Ah soundtracks, remember when they were class with lots of original material instead of terrible choral reimaginings of your favourite songs?

Well, upcoming slasher flick ‘The Turning’ from Floria Sigismondi starring Mackenzie Davis and Finn Wolfhard (Netflix’s Stranger Things) is making a pretty good fist of  it with the likes of Empress Of, Soccer Mommy, Cherry Glazer and Girl In Red contributing tracks.

And if that wasn’t enough to get you excited, Mitski has momentarily dropped out of her hiatus to add Cop Car to the mix – a track which she has previously been playing live.

We caught up with Mitski guitarist and ‘Be The Cowboy’ producer Patrick Hyland to chat about how the album was inspired by the disparate sounds of Frank Ocean, Prince and The Beatles – here.

Check out Empress Of’s contribution below – why not check out our 5 star review of her recent Whelan’s show here.

You can check out Soccer Mommy’s contribution and the soundtrack’s full tracklisting below.

1. Mother – Courtney Love
2. Cop Car – Mitski
3. Feed – Soccer Mommy
4. Kate’s Not Here – girl in red
5. SkindeepSkyhighHeartwide (feat. Pale Waves) – Lawrence Rothman
6. Call Me – Empress Of
7. The Wild – Vagabon
8. Getting Better (otherwise) – The Aubreys
9. Womb – Cherry Glazerr
10. The Brakes – Warpaint
11. Crust (Neverreallyknewyou) – Lawrence Rothman
12. Judas Kiss – Lawrence Rothman & MUNA
13. The Turn – Kali Uchis
14. Sleep It Off – Alice Glass
15. Ouroboros – Dani Miller
16. I Don’t Know – Alison Mosshart
17. Take No Prisoners (feat. Sunflower Bean) – Living Things
18. Crust – Lawrence Rothman
19. Silver – Kim Gordon