Soccer Mommy aka Sophie Allison has  announced details of her sophomore album ‘color theory’ set for release on February 28th via Loma Vista,

‘color theory’ was produced by Gabe Wax (who also produced Clean), mixed by Lars Stalfors (Mars Volta, HEALTH, St. Vincent), and features the live Soccer Mommy band on studio recording for the first time.

The album’s lead single Circle The Drain is accompanied by a Atiba Jefferson-directed (American Football, Turnstile, TV On The Radio, Dinosaur Jr.) music video featuring pro-skateboarders Sean Malto, Jake Anderson, Curren Caples, and Nicole Hause.

“I wanted the experience of listening to color theory to feel like finding a dusty old cassette tape that has become messed up over time, because that’s what this album is: an expression of all the things that have slowly degraded me personally,” Allison says. “The production warps, the guitar solos occasionally glitch, the melodies can be poppy and deceptively cheerful. To me, it sounds like the music of my childhood distressed and, in some instances, decaying.”

‘color theory’ explores three central themes: blue, representing sadness and depression; yellow, symbolizing physical and emotional illness; and, finally, gray, representing darkness, emptiness and loss.

“My mom has been terminally ill since I was a pre-teen, and I never really found a way to deal with it,” Allison says. “Watching my parents age and witnessing sickness take its toll made me think a lot about the cycle of life, and forced me to confront the paranoid sense that death is coming for me.”


1. bloodstream

2. circle the drain

3. royal screw up

4. night swimming

5. crawling in my skin

6. yellow is the color of her eyes

7. up the walls

8. lucy

9. stain

10. gray light

Pre-order color theory on tri-color vinyl with exclusive poster + sticker sheet, CD, cassette, and digital download here.