Robocobra Quartet took home the signature award for Best Album at this year’s NI Music Prize last night as the awards show returned for a full capacity event in the Ulster Hall last night. The experimental outfit scooped the award for their debut album ‘Living Isn’t Easy’ ahead of stiff competition from the likes of Soak, And So I Watch You From Afar and Hannah Peel.

Barry Devlin of Horslips received the Oh Yeah Legend Award and closed out the show with some of Horslips greatest songs, while screen composer Sheridan Tongue received a special Outstanding Contribution to Music presentation from PRS for Music.

The public also got in on the act by naming Ferna’s track ‘Wasting’ Single of the Year. Junk Drawer picked up Live Act of The Year and Video of The Year, while the coveted BBC Introducing: ATL Artist of The Year award went to The Florentinas.

“What a night and brilliant showcase! I am so proud of the Northern Irish music community. Well done to all the winners. A huge amount of work goes into an event like this and we are committed to giving our talent the best possible platform through this event. That’s why it is so reassuring that our supporters and sponsors understand this and get behind this event,” says “Charlotte Dryden from Oh Yeah Centre.

“Music contributed £345 million to the NI economy pre Covid and with the right conditions we can exceed that post Covid. Challenges remain, but just imagine what we could do with the right investment. It’s why we need to support local music.”