The shortlist The NI Music Prize 2019 have been announced. The 12 album field including household names such as Saint Sister, Soak and Two Door Cinema Club was selected by a host of local media and music professionals and the winner will be decided on at a special live event at Ulster Hall on November 7th.

Other awards including Best Single, Live Act and the Oh Yeah Contender Prize will also be announced on the night. The annual legend award goes to Snow Patrol for 2019, having been won posthumously by Irish Jazz legend Jackie Flavelle lat year.

The 2018 NI album of the year was picked up by The Wood Burning Savages

The Wood Burning Savages – Workmans Club – Hard Working Class Heroes Festival – 29th Sept 2018

Listen to all 12 albums nominated for the NI Music Prize 2019 below:

Arvo Party

Beauty Sleep

Blue Whale Process

Conor Mason

Cormac Neeson

Pat Dam Smyth


Ryan Vail

Saint Sister

Sam Wickens


Two Door Cinema Club

Oh Yeah Contender Prize

Amy Montgomery performing in Dimestone Tent at KnockanStockan 19. Photos by Nicholas O’Donnell.

Amy Montgomery
Joel Harkin
Jordan Adetunji
Problem Patterns
Strange New Places

The winner receives £1,000

Beast Live Act

Jordan Adetunji
Joshua Burnside
New Pagans
Ryan Vail & Elma Orkestra
Sister Ghost

Best Single

Amy Montgomery – Tree Song
Brand New Friend – I Was An Astronaut
Bui – Something Else To Talk About
Documenta – The Blue Sleep
Hand Models – Banana
Jealous Of The Birds – Blue Eyes
Joshua Burnside – Desert Wine
Junk Drawer – Year Of The Sofa
Kitt Philippa – Grace
Kitt Philippa – You
New Pagans – It’s Darker
ROE – Down Days

For more info visit