The Northern Ireland Music Prize 2019 took place in the Ulster Hall last night in front of a sold out crowd. The event was broadcast live on BBC Radio Ulster, with live performances from Ryan Vail & Elma Orkestra, Saint Sister, Jordan Adetunji, Strange New Places and Snow Patrol.

Three of the awards were decided through public vote, which led to Cherym picking up the Oh Yeah Contender Award, Sister Ghost scoop the Best Live Act and Junk Drawer’s ‘Year of The Sofa’ took away Best Single.

Cherym – Oh Yeah Contender

Sister GhostBest Live Act

Junk Drawer – Best Single

The best album which was won by Ryan Vail & Elma Orkestra for ‘Borders’ was debated by an 11 strong panel while the awards were taking place, which added to the excitement of the evening and delivered the result during the actual show.

Snow Patrol won the ‘Oh Yeah Legend Award’ while Steve Strange received ‘Outstanding contribution to music award’ with Coldplay providing a surprise video message in praise od Strange who has worked with the band for many years.