Galway’s finest NewDad have announce details of their debut album ‘Madra’ which is set for release on 26 January 2024 via Fair Youth/Atlantic.

‘Madra’ was recorded in the legendary Rockfield Studios and produced by NewDad’s long-time collaborator Chris W Ryan (Just Mustard) and mixed by Alan Moulder (The Smashing Pumpkins, Nine Inch Nails, Wet Leg).

News of the album is accompanied by new single ‘Angel’ which is also the album’s opening track.

Madra meaning dog in Irish explores various difficult parts of the human condition and the idea of the title is that these feelings that come up are sometimes ones you can’t escape, feelings that follow you around like a dog,” explains singer Julie.

“We had an amazing team around us who helped bring these songs to life and we’re so excited for this album to be out in the world. We hope that people connect with the songs and that Madra can be a comfort to everyone who listens.”

The quartet have also announced two Irish live dates with a homecoming show in Galway this December followed by their biggest headline show to date in Dublin at The Button Factory in February. Full details below.

Madra tracklisting

  1. Angel
  2. Sickly Sweet
  3. Where I Go
  4. Change My Mind
  5. In My Head
  6. Nosebleed
  7. Let Go
  8. Dream Of Me
  9. Nightmares
  10. White Ribbons
  11. Madra

Pre-order Madra – here

NewDad Live:

2 Dec ‘23 – Roisin Dubh, Galway

28 Feb ‘24 – Button Factory, Dublin

Tickets €20.00 on sale Friday, 22 Sept at 10am from