Meteor Choice Music Prize 2013The Meteor Choice Music Prize 2012 shortlist has just been announced. For those of you not familiar with the Choice Music Prize, it recognises the best album release by an Irish artist during the previous year. So any album in 2012 was eligible for consideration and each of the 10 media judges will have submitted their personal top 10 which gets combined to give the final 10 shortlist. The follow in the footsteps of two time winner, Jape who took home the Choice Music Prize 2012 for his album ‘Oceans Of Frequency’.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize Live Event will take place on Thursday March 7th in Vicar Street Dublin. Tickets will be on sale on Friday January 11th for €22.50 from and outlets nationwide. It sells out every year, so get on it. The winner will pick up a cheque of €10,000 as with every year.

We’re also running a poll to see if the Goldenplec readers can pick the winner. Meteor Choice Music Prize Poll.

So the nitty gritty of the shortlist, who’s on it. Well we can tell you that the final 10 acts for the Meteor Choice Music Prize 2012 are…

Choice Music Prize album of the year 2012 shortlist
The Cast of Cheers – Family
Adrian Crowley – I See Three Bird Flying
Delorentos – Little Sparks
Damien Dempsey – Almighty Love
Julie Feeney – Clocks
Heathers – Kingdom
Mumblin’ Deaf Ro – Dictionary Crimes
Two Door Cinema Club – Beacon
Windings – I Am Not The Crow
Wallis Bird – Wallis Bird

and the judging panel who came to this top 10 and will debate each of these 10 on the night are…

Choice Prize Judging Panel
Eoghan O’Sullivan [The Point Of Everything]
Claire Beck [Phantom FM]
KC [Today FM]
Aoife Barry [The Ticket]
Elaine Buckley [tRTE,]
Eamonn Sweeney [Irish Independent]
Mark Kavanagh [Daily Star]
Craig Fitzpatrick [Hot Press]
Sean Rocks (RTE Radio One]
Andy Kavanagh [TG4]
Steven McCauley [BBC Radio]

Comments are closed.