Belfast-based art-rock quartet, Junk Drawer have today shared their new single, Tears in Costa. The single release comes with news that the band will release a new four-track EP titled ‘The Dust Has Come to Stay’, which will be released via Art For Blind Records on March 11, 2022.

The new single, accompanied by a tongue-in-cheek music video directed by Graham Patterson, is the band’s first new release since their acclaimed debut full-length, Ready For The House’. 

Junk Drawer will support the new single with a string of UK dates.

Recorded with Chris Ryan (Just Mustard, NewDad, Robocobra Quartet), Tears in Costa boasts tightly-knit guitar lines and showcases the band’s penchant for simmering pop melodies and co-frontman Stevie Lennox’s knack for lyricism, delving further into the quartet’s Krautrock, post-punk and psychedelic influences.

Speaking about the new single, Stevie Lennox says: “The title stems from a time when I found myself with tears streaming down my face due to a deadly concoction of myself (I get the odd extreme brain reaction from epilepsy) and the over-caffeination native to chain cafe, Costa (where our Rory [Dee] has completely coincidentally just started working).

The general gist of the song comes from the realisation that at any point, we can be flung back to ground zero with nothing but our experience behind us. And that’s tough, but it’s something that needs to be accepted, otherwise, you risk getting pulled down with that reset. The riff idea came from one day when and my partner were cleaning the house, listening to Omni. At the next practice, I presented the riff to the band. They all immediately knew what to do with it, and we more or less finished the song in an hour.”

Junk Drawer are also notable for their part in the regular sell-out independent vinyl compilation series ‘A Litany of Failures’, and for their single Year of the Sofa having won Best Single at the NI Music Prize 2019, making the band the first independent band to take home a prize at the ceremony. Their debut LP ‘Ready For The House’ was released in April 2020 through Art For Blind Records. With this new single, and the news of the upcoming EP, 2022 is already proving to be another big year for the instrument swapping noise-makers.