On this week’s round-up of new Irish music it’s a big week for albums with the James Vincent McMorrow delivering ‘Grapefruit Season’ featuring the big singles Gone, Waiting and In Paradise, Irish supergroup HousePlants – Bell X1’s Paul Noonan and Daithi – deliver their debut album ‘Dry Goods’ after unexpectedly joining forces on a full-time basis earlier this year (BellX1 have not split) Berlin based trio Varley led by Irish singer Claire-Ann deliver their breezy indie debut ‘Smalltalk and DMC’s’, while Dublin based rockers Havvk, have delivered their latest album ‘Levelling’ featuring the singles Home and Automatic, and Somebody’s Child share their latest EP ‘Staying Sane’.

In terms of single this week, Kildare’s finest April delivers her fist single Piece of Me since signing with Atlantic Records, and there’ a lot of signage going on Pillow Queens have just announced that they have signed to Royal Mountain Records and shared a brand new version of Rats, while ex Eskies frontman Ian Bermingham makes a welcome return under the moniker Old Sea Legs. Not to be out done Cork’s Biig Biig gets all fancy on us collaborating with Metronomy on 405.

There are also welcome returns from the likes of Shiv, Dyvr, Lucy Blue, Sophie Doyle Ryder, Rushes and much more besides.

If you’d like to send us your music please fill out the form here. We’re off to It Takes A Village for the weekend. Come say hi.

James Vincent McMorrow




Somebody’s Child