Well the Digital Socket Awards are coming to a close with Ham Sandwich just off stage after an excellent set to close out the night. Congratulations to all involved in the night for working so hard on getting the show organised and ran in such a short period of time. It added plenty of pressure but we would like to think we thrived. It took place tonight (February 3rd 2011) in The Grand Social.

It involved 26 judges which included ourselves at Goldenplec, Harmless Noise, 2uiBestow, Swearimnotpaul.com,Nessymon, My Event GuideNialler9, On The Record, Alternative Ulster, State.ie, Bull Black Nova, Asleep on the compost heap, CubikMusik, Drop-D.ie, Electric Whipcrack, Indie Limerick, Lauren Murphy, Like a Drummer, Music Review Unsigned, Quarter Inch Collective, Rarities, B Sides and Other Stuff, Secret Fireworks, Stephen O’Rourke, Sweet Oblivion, The Point of Everything, Those Geese Were Stupified, The Torture Garden

Tonight we had Gareth Stack do a fantastic job as MC, Meljoann and Groom were our named acts and we were joined by Ham Sandwich for a surprise performance. We had a collection of bloggers DJing on the night but most importantly between the live sets we announced the winners of each category. Here are the winners.

Best Design (Website, Artwork, Posters)
Adebisi Shank

Best Independent Label
Richter Collective

Best Video
Ambience Affair

Best Music Photography
Loreanna Rushe

Best Radio Show
Donal Dineen

Best Pop
Cathy Davey

Best Folk

Best Rock and Alternative
Adebisi Shank

Best Electronic & Hip Hop
Solar Bears

Best Indie
The Cast of Ted Danson

Best EP
And So I Watch You From Afar – The Letters

Best Newcomer
The Cast of Cheers

Song of the Year
Villagers – The Meaning of the Ritual

Album of the Year
Adebisi Shank – This is the second album of a band called Adebisi Shank

RTE also worked with us on the awards to present an award for the outstanding act of 2010. They will be offer the opportunity to do a session for RTE’s new music program Red Radar and an appearance on TwoTube.

RTE Outstanding Award 2010
Cast of Cheers