The nominations for The Choice Music Prize album of the year 2020 have been announced by on RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford Show by Jim Carroll, chairman of the judging panel.

The winner will be announced on March 4th. The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

The shortlist is as follows:

Bitch Falcon – Staring at Clocks (Small Pond Recordings)

Denise Chaila – Go Bravely  (narolane)

Fontaines D.C. – A Hero’s Death  (Partisan Records)

JyellowL – 2020 DIvision  (JyellowL Records)

Róisín Murphy – Róisín Machine  (Loaded Records)

Nealo – All The Leaves Are Falling  (2020 Nealo)

Pillow Queens – In Waiting  (Pillow Queens Records)

Ailbhe Reddy – Personal History  (Friends of the Family)

Niamh Regan – Hemet  (The Black Gate Label)

Silverbacks – Fad  (Central Tones)

Judging Panel:

Trishauna Archer – Beat FM

Pamela Blake – Today FM

Pavel Barter – Sunday Times

Gemma Bradley – BBC Radio One Introducing/BBC Radio Ulster Across the Line

Lisa Connell – GCN

Tracy Clifford -RTÉ 2fm

Lauren Murphy – Freelance journalist

Derek O’Connor -RTÉ Culture

Claire Regan – LMFM/Virgin Media

Louise Tighe – FM104

Ray Wingnut – Spin Southwest